Illinois Laws And Tint Percentage Information
Window tinting is a common practice among most people, covering everything from vehicle to home to commercial windows. Window tinting is generally decided by two, main factors. The first factor is user choice. It is up to you how much tint you want in your window film and whether you want it to be decorative or not. The other factor involved is what we are allowed to do according to Illinois state laws on tinting; avoiding fines for you in the process.
Tint is measure and defined by something called Visible Light Transmission. The amount of tint you can have on your sedan, is specifically defined under Illinois state laws. On your sedan windshield, you can have non-reflective tint only (as we don’t want to cause distraction to other drivers) on the upper six inches of the windshield. On your front side windows, the tint must allow in 35% or more of VLT. The back side windows can be reflective, but also must allow in 35% VLT. The back windshield, like the other windows, also must allow in 35% VLT.
SUVs and Vans
Unlike other states, Illinois has different allowances for different vehicle types. While sedans can only allow in 35% VLT, SUVs and Vans are a bit different. On the windshield of your SUV or Van, as in sedans, you can have non reflective tine on the upper six inches of the windshield. The front side windows must allow in 50% VLT or more. However, the back side windows can be as dark as you possibly could want. And, the back windshield can also be as darkly tinted as you desire. This is to ensure that items you are hauling are kept private, preventing break ins.
Consequences of Illegal Tint
If you decide to go against Illinois state laws and tint your windows too dark, you can be held liable for this. Currently, the penalties for illegal window tinting are as follows: the first offense, depending on severity of law broken will result in a fine of between $50 and $500, plus a ticket to fix the tint. If you are caught a second time (or any other time after) this violation will result in a class C misdemeanor with an additional $100 to $500 fine. For this reason, we recommend letting us install your tint and keep you out of this type of situation.
Home and Commercial Tint Regulations
In the state of Illinois, there are currently no state laws or regulations about the amount of tint that you can have on residential or commercial windows. However, depending on the area you live in, there could be extra enforcements you need to follow. An example of this is: if you live in a housing development or community, there could be restrictions on the amount of tint you can have, in order to keep houses looking uniform. For this reason, it is important to research regulations for you, specific neighborhood